Broll, Golod, Williams Represent Otters Alumni on ECHL Opening Night Rosters

Ontario Hockey League

The ECHL dropped the puck on its 2020-21 season this past weekend, with 37 OHL graduates listed on Opening Night rosters.

The 26-team circuit is operating with 13 clubs during the COVID-19 affected campaign, with two planning to return come February 2021 in the Fort Wayne Komets and the Toledo Walleye. The remaining 11, including the Canadian-based Brampton Beast and 2019 ECHL champion Newfoundland Growlers, have suspended operations for the duration of the season.

Four graduates, including reigning OHL Humanitarian of the Year  Jacob Ingham (Kitchener Rangers) along with forwards Joseph Garreffa (Ottawa 67’s), Sean Josling (Sarnia Sting) and Maxim Golod (Erie Otters) competed in the OHL during the 2019-20 season. Ingham (Los Angeles Kings) and Golod (Anaheim Ducks) both signed three-year entry-level NHL contracts following the conclusion of the 2019-20 season. Garreffa inked an AHL contract with the San Jose Barracuda, and Josling signed on with the ECHL’s Wheeling Nailers.

OHL Graduates on 2020-21 ECHL Opening Night rosters:

Players listed in correspondence with graduating OHL club
* – competed in OHL during 2019-20 season

Allen Americans [MIN]:
Corey Durocher (Soo Greyhounds 2012)
Cole Fraser (Peterborough Petes 2019)
Joseph Garreffa (Ottawa 67’s 2020)*

Florida Everblades [NSH]:
Stefan Leblanc (Mississauga Steelheads 2017)
Kyle Neuber (Sarnia Sting 2010)
Cody Sol (Kitchener Rangers 2012)

Greenville Swamp Rabbits [FLA]:
Chris Carlisle (Oshawa Generals 2015)
Frank Hora (Kitchener Rangers 2017)
Jacob Ingham (Kitchener Rangers 2020)*
Bryan Moore (Soo Greyhounds 2015)

Jacksonville Icemen [WPG]:
Kyle Keyser (Oshawa Generals 2019)
Ian McKinnon (Mississauga Steelheads 2018)

Kansas City Mavericks [CGY]:
Cole Candella (Sudbury Wolves 2019)
Marcus Crawford (Saginaw Spirit 2018)

Indy Fuel [CHI]:
David Broll
(Soo Greyhounds 2013, Erie Otters 2009-10)
Mathieu Foget (Mississauga Steelheads 2018)
Chris Martenet (Ottawa 67’s 2017)
Cody Payne (Niagara IceDogs 2015)
Spencer Watson (Mississauga Steelheads 2017)

Orlando Solar Bears [TB]:
Jerry D’Amigo (Kitchener Rangers 2011)
Aaron Luchuk (Barrie Colts 2018)
J.J. Piccinich (London Knights 2017)
Garret Sparks (Guelph Storm 2013)
Clint Windsor (Ottawa 67’s 2013)

Tulsa Oilers [ANA]:
Maxim Golod (Erie Otters 2020)*
Kyle Jenkins (Peterborough Petes 2017)
Darby Llewellyn (Kitchener Rangers 2017)
Austin McEneny (Kitchener Rangers 2018)
Devin Williams (Erie Otters 2016)

Utah Grizzlies [COL]:
Alex Lepkowski (Oshawa Generals 2014)

Wheeling Nailers [PIT]:
Chad Duchesne (Kingston Frontenacs 2016)
Brandon Halverson (Soo Greyhounds 2016)
Sean Josling (Sarnia Sting 2020)*
Michael Pelech (Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors 2009)
Patrick Watling (Soo Greyhounds 2014)

Wichita Thunder [EDM]:
Sean Allen (Windsor Spitfires 2019)
Jacob Graves (London Knights 2016)

For more information on the ECHL, visit

More News
Otters Weekly Round Up
6 hours ago
Otters Weekly Round-Up
1 week ago
Dive Into Reading
1 week ago
Otters Weekly Round-Up
2 weeks ago
Statement from OHL Commissioner David Branch Regarding Return to Play
4 weeks ago
Otters Weekend Roundup
4 weeks ago